Back To School!

Published July 10, 2016 by Robyn

Hej!

(Practicing my Swedish there ๐Ÿ˜€). Hope all is well in your world.

Yes, it’s true. This ol’ gal is going back to school. Tomorrow I am starting the Tertiary Preparation Certificate (TPC) at TAFE – I think some other countries might call this type of college a Polytechnic. The TPC is aimed at mature students (well that’s definitely me lol) who wish to undertake some tertiary study. Some time ago I started doing Historical Reenactment and this rekindled my interest in History. Particularly Medieval History and within that, the Viking Age. So my plan is to attend University and do a History degree. The good thing about Academia is that it goes on merit rather than age and I’ve lots of plans for what I’ll do with that. I’m really excited and really nervous at the same time. Also just a little daunted by the prospect of having to wake up at 6:00 am and be out the door by 7:00 at the latest. Mornings are not my thing. I’m not a grumpy morning person, just a very vague one ๐Ÿ˜•.

Crafting is a big part of the Reenactment scene, and one of the crafts I’m learning is Nalbinding (Nรฅlbindning in Swedish -practicing again ๐Ÿ˜‰). I’m trying to finish off a hat I’m making to be able to wear out in the cold mornings. This is where I’m up to:

1468123106099-1154751613

Nalbinding is the precursor to modern knitting. It is made using a single needle, usually made from bone or wood. I’m just a newbie at this craft so my stitches aren’t the best but it will do the job. The red bag underneath was my first completed nalbinding project. I’ll talk more at length about nalbinding in another post.

14681234606541879045689

This little (big) guy is Soda. Excuse my foot in the photo. He’s been with me for about a year now when his original people moved and couldn’t take care of him. He keeps me sane and whole, considering his needs above my own is very good for me and also helps me make sure I take care of myself (so I can take care of him).

Well I’m going to get back to my nalbinding now. I look forward to catching up on some of your posts.

Have a great rest of your weekend and a great week! Until next time, as always, take care,

Love

V โค

 

Leave a Reply

