Greetings mes amis!

I have recently been fortunate enough to have had some creative opportunities pretty much fall into my lap. I take this as a sign I am on the right track. Finally. I won’t go into detail yet as from experience I have learned that this is a surefire way to shoot myself in the foot!

What I will say though, is that great opportunities don’t always come cheap. So to this end I have decided to reanimate Paperdoll Cabaret, my Etsy shop (It Lives!). It will be a little different this time than before since my focus has shifted (as far as my need to make stuff goes) from making jewellery to painting. I am currently in the midst of a little flurry of activity designing what I hope will become cool items to put up. I’ll let y’all know when I’m up and running again. I’m going away on Friday for a few days and while this won’t really interrupt the design process, it will definitely cause a bit of a delay in actual production. But hopefully it won’t be too long…. to be honest I can’t afford it to be. I’m not going to miss the boat this time 😉

On a different note, we had great fun last Wednesday (our 31st) dressing up and giving out candy to the local trick or treaters. In Australia (being in the Southern Hemisphere), and in the context it’s celebrated here, it is not a serious celebration. That, I believe would be the 2nd May here. However kids these days are really getting into it and it was so much fun to watch their little faces (and not so little, there were quite a few older kids in the mix) light up when I opened the door in my pointy hat with my “pet spider” dangling from my finger. It was though the chocolate bars I handed them were priceless. It was wonderful! And it’s all harmless, healthy fun. However, and there always seems to be a however, there are a lot of people around here who don’t agree and get quite upset about the whole thing. Even some people who work in shops that sell Halloween-related stuff. They can get quite snotty when you buy fake spiders etc. Go figure! I was told by some of the parents who were walking around with their children that they had received a frosty reception and worse from “Halloween Haters”. To all those people I blow a big, fat RASPBERRY! Don’t take it all so seriously! We put a spider on the gate to show that we were “Halloween friendly” and will continue to do something along these lines each year. Viva Halloween Australian style!!!

I am still unable to post any of my own photos here. I think there must be something wrong with my account settings. I can’t believe I am quite this hopeless. Then again….. 🙂 I will contact support through the week and see if they can help me sort this out. I’m not a great photographer but there have been a few photos I would’ve liked to share with you.

Oh yeah. A few days ago I purchased my first piece of jewellery from Shalottlilly. It’s currently away being photographed and it has to travel all the way from Texas so I’m not sure when it will arrive, but I can’t wait! This lady’s work is beautiful. Check out the Shalottlilly Facebook page to see for yourself.

And last, but certainly not least I hope anyone who has been affected by hurricane Sandy is ok now. I really hope you all stayed safe.

Take care.

Until next time

V ❤

Leave a Reply

