Shark In The Water!!!

Published August 4, 2012 by Robyn

Hi!

This was another question I answered in Plinky. The question was “What is a fear you’ve overcome?” Once again I wasn’t able to post it here directly. There is a problem but I can’t see where it is. Anyway:

Shark In The Water

  • This is a very silly fear.

    Ha! This is about a fear that I have kind of overcome. Overcome as far as I can write about it, but not overcome enough to be able to load up any images of my nemesis. For a reason I have never been able to fathom, as in I have never had any related scary experiences, I have been terrified of sharks! Terrified enough to have fainted when suddenly confronted with an image of a shark. When I was around 10 years old while at swimming training I became paralysed and had to be rescued(kinda half swim half being dragged to the edge) because I had somehow managed to convince myself that there was a shark in the pool. Anyway, these days, with a lot of concentration, watering eyes and pounding heart I am able to at least look at sharks as long as I am prepared for it and it doesn’t look too scary. I have also walked through Sydney Aquarium twice now, once when my brother was visiting from the U.S. and once with my son. He held my hand real tight and kept saying “It’s all right Mum, if you need to you can squeeze my hand really really tight.” Bless 🙂 So what I am finding is as I’m getting older it’s getting easier to face the monster (in fact sharks are really beautiful, streamlined creatures). I still react (scream, knees go from under me) if I’m faced with one unexpectedly, but mostly now I’m good. Really.

    What are you scared of?

    Till next time

    V ❤

Leave a Reply

